University of Canberra
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Referencing Guide

Legal Encyclopedia - Whole

Treat an entire dictionary or encyclopedia as a book.

Format

Number Editor (ed), Title of Work (Brief Publisher, Edition ed, Year of Publication) vol Volume, Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Number Author, Title of Work (Brief Publisher, Edition ed, Year of Publication) vol Volume, Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Example

16 Stanley N. Katz (ed), The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (Oxford University Press, 2009).

Legal Encyclopedia - Entry

Format - Online

Number Publisher, Title of Encyclopedia, vol Volume (online at Day Month Year of Retrieval) Title/Section Number Title/Section Name, 'Chapter/Entry Number Chapter/Entry Name' Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Example

2 Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 15 February 2018) 2 Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information' [2.3.10].

 

Format - Print

Number Publisher, Title of Encyclopedia, vol Volume (at Day Month Year of Viewing) Title/Section Number Title/Section Name, 'Chapter/Entry Number Chapter/Entry Name' Pinpoint.

Example

4 LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 15 (at 25 May 2009) 235 Insurance, '2 General Principles' [235–270] .

EndNote Reference Type

Whole - Book or Edited Book

Entry - Dictionary or Encyclopedia (enter section number and title in Original Title)

Citing a Source Within a Source

When a source is directly quoted in another work enter the reference as:

Full source, quoting Full source

Lorelle Burton, Drew Weston and Robin Kowalski, Psychology (Milton, 2nd ed, 2009), quoting J C Overholser, 'Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia' (2002) 32 Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 125.


When a source is cited (or just mentioned) in another work enter the reference as:

Full source, cited in Full source

G E Schwartz, 'Personality and Health: An Integrative health Science Approach' in VP Makosky (ed), The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol 7 (American Psychological Association, 1987), cited in Lorelle Burton, Drew Weston and Robin Kowalski, Psychology (Milton, 2nd ed, 2009) 576.