University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Film / DVD / Videorecording - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Writer, Title of Work, credits (Original release date; Location: Studio, Year of production), format.

     Number. Writer, "Title of Scene," Title of Work, credits (Original release date; Location: Studio, Year of production), format.

Examples - First note

     5. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, directed by Peter Jackson, produced by Steve Pyke (Auckland: Imagine Films, 2003), motion picture.

     7. Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibillity, directed by Ang Lee (1995; Australia: Columbia TriStar Home Video, 1996), DVD.

     8. "Crop Duster Attack," North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer, "Title of Scene," Title of Work (if no scene is listed)

Examples - Subsequent notes

     12. Lord of the Rings.

     15. Austen, Sense and Sensibility.

     21. "Crop Duster Attack"

Film / DVD / Videorecording - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer. "Title of Scene." Title of Work. Credits. Original release year; Location: Studio, Year of production. Format.

Writer. Title of Work. Credits. Original release year; Location: Studio, Year of production. Format.

Examples - Bibliography

Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. Directed by Ang Lee. 1995; Australia: Columbia TriStar Home Video, 1996. DVD.

"Crop Duster Attack." North by Northwest. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock. 1959; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000. DVD.

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. Directed by Peter Jackson, produced by Steve Pyke. Auckland: Imagine Films, 2003. Motion picture.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Audiovisual Material - enter credits into credits field and format into Type.