APA - HomeIn-Text CitationsArtworkBlog / YouTubeBook - PrintBook - ElectronicBook ChapterBrochure / PamphletComputer Program / CD-ROMConferenceDictionary / EncyclopediaFacebook / TwitterFilm / DVD / VideorecordingGovernment DocumentHansardImageJournal Article - PrintJournal Article - ElectronicLecture / Reading Brick / E-ReserveLegislation / Case lawMapMusicNewsletterNewspaper ArticlePatentPersonal CommunicationPodcastReportSpeechStandardThesis / Unpublished Work / Self CitingTV / RadioWeb Site / Web DocumentWiki
Chicago - HomeIn-Text Citations - NotesIn-Text Citations - Author / DateArtworkBlog / YouTubeBook - PrintBook - ElectronicBook ChapterBrochure / PamphletComputer Program / CD-ROMConferenceDictionary / EncyclopediaFacebook / TwitterFilm / DVD / VideorecordingGovernment DocumentHansardImageJournal Article - PrintJournal Article - ElectronicLecture / Reading Brick / E-ReserveLegislation / Case LawMapMusicNewsletterNewspaper ArticlePatentPersonal CommunicationPodcastReportSpeechStandardThesis / Unpublished Work / Self CitingTV / RadioWeb Site / Web DocumentWiki
Harvard - HomeIn-Text CitationsArtworkBlog / YouTubeBook - PrintBook - ElectronicBook ChapterBrochure / PamphletComputer Program / CD-ROMConferenceDictionary / EncyclopediaFacebook / TwitterFilm / DVD / VideorecordingGovernment DocumentHansardImageJournal Article - PrintJournal Article - ElectronicLecture / Reading Brick / E-ReserveLegislation / Case lawMapMusicNewsletterNewspaper ArticlePatentPersonal CommunicationPodcastReportSpeechStandardThesis / Unpublished Work / Self CitingTV / RadioWeb Site / Web DocumentWiki
Vancouver - HomeIn-Text CitationArtworkBlog / YouTubeBook - PrintBook - ElectronicBook ChapterBrochure / PamphletComputer Program / CD-ROMConferenceDictionary / EncyclopediaFacebook / TwitterFilm / DVD / VideorecordingGovernment DocumentHansardImageJournal Article - PrintJournal Article - ElectronicLecture / Reading Brick / E-ReserveLegislation / Case LawMapMusicNewsletterNewspaper ArticlePatentPersonal CommunicationPodcastReportSpeechStandardThesis / Unpublished Work / Self CitingTV / RadioWeb Site / Web DocumentWiki
AGLC HomeIn-Text CitationsArtworkBlog / YouTube / FacebookBook - Print / ElectronicBook ChapterCaseComputer Program / CD-ROMConferenceConstitutionDictionary / EncyclopediaFilm / Audiovisual recordingGovernment DocumentHansardImageInternational CaseInterviewJournal Article - Print / ElectronicLecture / Reading Brick / E-ReserveLegal EncyclopediaLegislation / BillLooseleafMapMusicNewspaper / NewsletterParliamentary PaperPatentPersonal CommunicationPodcastPress / Media ReleaseReportSpeechStandardThesis / Unpublished Work / Self CitingTreatyTV / RadioUN DocumentWeb DocumentWikiWorld Trade Organisation Document
This is the "Welcome" page of the "UC Referencing Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UC Referencing Guide   Tags: research  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2016 URL: http://canberra.libguides.com/referencing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Referencing

 

Reference List or Bibliography?

What is the difference between a Reference List and a Bibliography?

Reference List - all the references that you have cited in your assignment, report, essay or article.

Bibliography - all of the references that you have read, whether or not they are cited in your assignment.

 

About This Guide

This Guide has been created for the University of Canberra community using authoritative style manuals and associated web sites. These resources are listed on the Referencing Resources tab of this Guide.

Great care has been taken to ensure that the examples in this Guide conform to the guidelines set out in these style manuals, however the manuals are open to interpretation. For further guidance, please consult the original style manuals or web sites.

Please send any feedback or corrections to Ask a Librarian.

 

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you with referencing your sources for assignments. It replaces the book A guide to referencing with examples in the APA & Harvard styles.

This guide covers:

 

Which style should I choose?

Consult your unit outline or ask your lecturer.

 

Why Should I Acknowledge My Sources?

You need to acknowledge your sources:

  • to acknowledge the work and ideas of other authors
  • to allow the reader to check that what you are claiming is correct
  • to show that you have read and understood the research published in your area of study
  • to lend authority to what you are writing
  • to strengthen your argument
  • to support your own ideas
  • to provide details or background to what you are writing
  • to provide interest.

You must acknowledge and cite your sources. This is important to avoid plagiarism, whether or not you use the author’s own words.

Plagiarism occurs when you use other people’s ideas, words or data as if they were your own. Deliberate plagiarism is a serious act of academic misconduct. The University of Canberra imposes strict penalties on students who are found to contravene the University’s Student Academic Integrity Policy.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip